Introspection and Introductions.

September 1, 2011 § Leave a comment

I am a recent graduate and, like many others my age, am facing my first September without school. Two conditions inextricably linked in my experience are now to be forced apart.

To be simple and sincere, I feel unmoored. A harried Spring flowed into a glorious, heartrending Summer, which ebbs now into a pensive Fall. I am an introvert and an over-thinker, so my cards are already stacked precariously as I contemplate the big, state-of-my-Life questions. I’ve been battling melancholy, seeing in the gilded treetops a summons from the frivolities of summer, but lacking any syllabi to guide my purpose.

I am currently working a 9-5 administrative job in Boston, patching together paychecks to help me settle into this new chapter of my life. I am cobbling together, I hope, the foundations of my grand adventure. Every new chapter holds the potential for that — I believe this enough that I was inspired to create this as a chronicle.

I am full of good intentions, but have let elements within my life and my character stand in the way of their fulfillment. I’ll post more about my specific aims and ideas at some later time, but for now I’ll  say that the experiment is to live more mindfully, from now through next September, and to keep a thoughtful account of my search for a true and graduated purpose.

And so I begin. Let’s see what a year of living mindfully and intentionally can do.

Fondly —

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Introspection and Introductions. at Little Wings..

meta

