June 25, 2012 § Leave a comment

For I have learned
To look on nature, not as in the hour
Of thoughtless youth; but hearing oftentimes
The still, sad music of humanity,
Nor harsh nor grating, though of ample power
To chasten and subdue. And I have felt
A presence that disturbs me with the joy
Of elevated thoughts; a sense sublime
Of something far more deeply interfused,
Whose dwelling is the light of setting suns.

This evening I watched for half an hour as the sun retreated in more breathtaking glory than I’ve seen before.

I effuse about sunset a lot and take even more pictures of it, but I really am amazed every day by the unbelievable grace of light. I think of how we could have been formed in any number of ways — how we could have been creatures of the deep sea or caverns or rainforest, glowing and blossoming in the darkness.

But here we are, children of the sun, and we can stand on banks of the Charles, drenched in gold and purple light, and we have skin that registers the warmth of it and eyes to take in its colors. And it’s free to behold and it happens somewhere every day.

I am filled and flattened with wonder tonight. I am so thankful for this life!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading at Little Wings..

meta

