Goals.

August 27, 2012 § Leave a comment

I suppose that part of working towards a goal is stating it clearly, pulling it out of its abstract realm and closer to tangibility.

After 15 months away from academia, I’ve decided that I want to go back to school within the next year. I’ve also decided that I want to go to graduate school abroad.

The program that has most captivated my ambitions is offered by the Institute for Cultural Diplomacy, an NGO based in Berlin which promotes peacebuilding through intercultural relations. I feel a bit wary because it’s a very new program (this is its first year) and its academic affiliations are unorthodox (it’s offered not by a university, but by an institute in cooperation with universities). But more than I feel wary, I feel excited by the premise of the program and the work the institute does. I felt comprehended when I read about it, if that makes sense. Here is an intersection of everything I want to study. It gave me a term to express my pursuit.

I’m going to give it a try. They have a March semester, which I’m aiming for, as it allows me to keep other programs on the table for next fall.

So, six months! The plan: save up, go for a visit, turn in a good application, be ready to move.

Having a goal in mind makes coming to work so easy!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Goals. at Little Wings..

meta

